Specified Regional Area Postcode List

Specified Regional Area Postcode List

This page lists the areas – including postcodes – for ‘regional Australia’ or a ‘low population growth metropolitan area’.

For the purposes of General Skilled Migration, you may be able to claim points for the ‘regional Australia’ part of the points test if you have lived in one or more of these areas and have studied full time at a campus located in regional Australia or a low population growth metropolitan area for at least 2 years prior to lodging your migration application. You need to demonstrate that you have studied at a campus located in one of the specified regional/low population growth metropolitan post codes.

Additionally, if you apply for a Skilled – Regional Sponsored (Provisional) visa and you are being sponsored by a participating State or Territory government, you will be required to sign an undertaking that you, and any secondary applicants included in your application, will live, work or study, in a regional or a low population growth metropolitan area in Australia, gazetted at the time your provisional visa was granted for the duration of your visa, or until such time as you are able to obtain sponsorship for permanent residence under the Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme. If you are granted a Skilled – Regional Sponsored (Provisional) visa, you and any secondary applicants will have a condition attached to your visas to ensure you comply with this undertaking.

For the purposes of the State/Territory Sponsored Business owner (residence) visa (subclass 892) you may be eligible for a waiver of the requirement for your business to have had an annual turnover of at least $200,000 if both your business and residence is located in one or more of these areas. To be eligible for a waiver of the annual turnover requirement you must meet two of the three thresholds related to net business assets, net personal and business assets and/or provided employment.
See: State/Territory Sponsored Business Owner (Residence) (subclass 892)

Eligible postcodes

Regional Australia/low population growth metropolitan areas Postcodes

New South Wales
except Sydney, Newcastle, the Central Coast and Wollongong

2311 to 2312
2328 to 2411
2420 to 2490
2536 to 2551
2575 to 2594
2618 to 2739
2787 to 2898

except the greater Brisbane area and the Gold Coast

4124 to 4125
4270 to 4272
4307 to 4499
4517 to 4519
4522 to 4899

except Melbourne metropolitan area

3211 to 3334
3340 to 3424
3430 to 3649
3658 to 3749
3778 to 3781
3810 to 3909
3921 to 3925
3945 to 3974
3981 to 3996

Western Australia
except Perth and surrounding areas

6041 to 6044
6083 to 6084
6121 to 6126
6200 to 6799

South Australia Entire State
Tasmania Entire State
Northern Territory Entire Territory

Note: none of the Australian Capital Territory is included.